Asia

Lesson One: Learning to Compromise

Being a solo traveller, I can tell you I am not accustomed to compromising. On anything. Be it, where I stay, what I eat, what I do, who I meet, I’m just not used to it. That’s why I chose to be a solo traveller in the first place. It’s so I can do whatever the hell I want, when I want and with whom I want. Call me selfish, call me independent, but I’m just telling it like it is. I know there are others out there like me.

But for this trip, I had to learn to compromise. And fast. Or else the friends will know my flaws, my imperfections.

So for lesson number one, learn what the word means and do as it says.

Compromise means:
1. a settlement of differences by mutual concessions; an agreement reached by adjustment of conflicting or opposing claims, principles, etc., by reciprocal modification of demands.
2. the result of such a settlement.
3. something intermediate between different things

That doesn’t sound too hard at all right? Afterall, we did compromise on the decision to take up diving together, knowing that one of us wasn’t great at swimming. And we did compromise on where we were staying*.

So with that done and dusted, it was now time to play! And it was fun. And I think I succeeded in lesson one. For today.

Highlights of Day One

We asked the driver to take us somewhere near the beach for breakfast. And he didn’t disappoint. This was the view from my seat at the breakfast table. I just wanted to be in the water!

Something light and soothing for the throat. Chicken porridge with a glass of fresh honeydew melon juice. It didn’t take long for that one to go down.

This is a picture of a random bin sitting in the middle of the road on the way to our villa. We saw all sorts of stuff sitting randomly in the middle of the road; a frangipani plant, a goat, children, you name it! Maybe that’s the Balinese way of creating a one-lane road?


After settling into our villa, the boys wanted to go shopping for boardies and thongs (or flip flops) but not wanting to pay tourist prices. The driver took us to Krisna Mall, a place where the locals shop. Local prices you ask, yes please! Boardies, thongs, sunnies and dresses filled the basket till we could fit no more. We were very satisfied.

This is a dish of Nasi Campur which we all desparately needed after roaming the main street of Kuta. Look at all the bright colours! And of course, one has to drink the infamous Bintang when in Bali. I am told that Heineken is better.

*We stayed at Villa Empat out near Echo Beach. We highly recommend it. If you decide to hire a driver, ask for Putu.

Leave a Reply

