North America

All Things NYC from Lonely Planet

I found an interesting article on the front page of Lonely Planet today. It’s titled “Local in a tourist town: a native New Yorker’s view.”

A third-generation New Yorker talks about all things New York; the people, the tourists, the popular haunts.

Now I’ve always been envious of New Yorkers. I’ve met a few in my time, I mean my aunty and her family lives there for goodness sakes, and I’ve always felt envious of them. I mean they get to live in the best city in the world (in my opinion). They get to live and breathe all things New York on a daily basis. They get to soak up the hustle and bustle of Manhattan AND wind down in one of the nearby neighbourhoods like Williamsburg. And do you know what’s worse? Meeting the ones who are born and bred in New York. They get to truly call New York as home. Life is unfair sometimes.

Check out the interview here.

Photos courtesy of Google Images

2 thoughts on “All Things NYC from Lonely Planet

  1. You don’t have to be born here to claim yourself as a NYer. I’ve been here 22 years and that’s plenty long enough. I’m starting to feel sufficiently native when I see people I know quoted in the NYT (and vice versa.)

    By the way, H & H Bagels is now closed…

    • Hi Caitlin, I wish I could call myself a NYer just for loving it so much! Thanks for the update on H&H, I’ll remove it from the post 🙂

Leave a Reply

