Africa

Life on Site – Zambian Theme Night

I did a daft thing the other night. I left both my camera and smart phone in my room. And the kitchen was having Zambian theme night! So unfortunately no photos on my part but thank goodness for Google Images.

Finkubala, similar to Mopane Worms. They are an important source of protein for a lot of Southern Africans. They are usually harvested and then either eaten raw as a snack or fried till crunchy on the outside and gooey on the inside. I first had them in Kinshasa and they were much juicier than these ones. These were very crunchy and bitter so I dipped them in Mrs HS Ball’s Chutney for a bit of flavour.

Ibwatu or Munkoyo. It is a traditional rural Zambian drink but favoured all through central African countries including the Congo. It’s made by pounding roots found in the Katanga province and maize particles (corn). It was sweet and pulpy. I don’t understand why the Zambians call it “sweet beer” though. It tastes nothing like Heineken.

These were my favourite. There were other dishes like stewed fish bones, rape leaves (yes, that’s what they call it), sweet potato and sausage. It was a privilege to taste traditional Zambian food on my first week here. Thanks to all the cooks involved.

I can’t wait to see what the next theme is (theme nights held every Weds)!

Photos courtesy of Google Images.

Leave a Reply

