Read

On The Bedside Table – African Dawn

Africa has really gotten to me. Or haven’t you noticed?

After nearly 2 years (on and off) in Africa, it keeps pulling me back for more. Whether for business or pleasure, I ain’t complaining one bit and I feel privileged to be able to explore this beautiful continent over and over again (next stop is Botswana again and Namibia). I love the continent so much I’ve even taken to reading books after the place, even though most of them are usually filled with history and political banter. So it was very welcoming to have African Dawn by Tony Park land on my bedside table. And I must say, it was surprising to read how much Tony knows about Africa and the history of the Southern African countries; Zimbabwe, Zambia, South Africa etc. And he is an Australian author. He was well and truly bitten by the African bug!

The book follows the story of 3 families -the Bryants, the Quilter-Phipps and the Ngwenyas – through 3 generations from the 1950s to present day; their struggle with sustaining white/black relationships, the incarceration of Mugabe, the land ownership debate and the deadly and corrupt business of rhino poaching and wildlife conservation in Rhodesia -Zimbabwe.

I read the blurb and thought “Oh God, this is going to require too much thinking, I just wanted something light to read and take my mind away from work”. But once I picked up the book I couldn’t put it down. The storyline was captivating, the characters were interesting and although it’s fiction, it incorporated interesting facts about the history and politics of Rhodesia that it made me want to research more into it.

I loved this book and I loved how Tony Park was able to share his knowledge of African history through a dramatic storyline. And now I’ve got another one on my bedside table so stay tuned.

Enjoy! xx

[Disclaimer: I am affiliated with The Book Depository and will gain a commission if you decide to buy the book. Thanking you in advance if you do. No obligations.]

Leave a Reply

