Africa

Road Trip Day 7: Underberg & Surroundings

— 03 Oct 2011 —

Like I said, Underberg is a very small town. So small that you can’t blink as you drive on the R617 into the town or you will miss it, like I did.

It was shitty weather again and there was nothing we could do at the farm. It was too wet to go horse-riding or play in the paddocks. All in all, it was just a miserable weather day.

So I got in the car and drove, trying to get away from the clouds. But they seemed to like following me. And they followed me all the way to Bulwer in Pietermaritzburg, where I was hoping to spend the next 3 days paragliding with Wild Sky (recommended to me by a fellow paragliding pilot). I wanted to check out the town but it was another one of those “don’t blink or you’ll miss it” towns. Seeing as there wasn’t much going on, I leisurely headed back to the farm taking in the sites to my left and right (I was alone on the road for most of the way – not promoting dangerous driving at all!).

Once back, I decided to go explore the town of Underberg. I didn’t drive past it this time! For a small town, there were plenty of stores, all along the main road crossing through the town. A vintage clothing store doubled as a cafe, a couple of antiques stores, a gift ware store, the local information centre and not to mention the two sport pubs.

I got talking to the girl in the cafe and apparently Underberg is off the charts during the Splashy Fen, one of SA’s longest running music festivals. The accommodation fills up pretty quickly at all the B&Bs, the resort and the farms, and there are people EVERYWHERE. What?! People in Underberg. That’s hard to believe (that’s my ignorant side coming out)!

Not soon after I trolled through each item in each store, I bumped into *L and we decided it was a great idea to go to the pub and get out of the rain. We visited both just for good measure. As we were leaving we found this store. What?! 
Having wasted most of the afternoon, we chilled for the rest of the day. Two other travellers arrived as we got back (*JB and *M) and that night, all of them had a go at twisting my arm into going on the 3 days horse-riding adventure into Lesotho. Seeing as the rain in Underberg and surrounding areas wasn’t going to let up any time soon (therefore no paragliding), I buckled even though I knew it was going to be a bad idea. I hadn’t ridden a horse since I was in my early teens so this was going to be one interesting trip.

Leave a Reply

