Africa

Kingdom in the Sky – Day 2

— 05 Oct 2011 —

After a much-needed sleep, I woke to find that I couldn’t move. Yes readers, that was how sore my muscles were. After a couple of attempts of rolling off the bed (very hard because the duvet was so plush and engulfed me entirely), I walked out of the room to the smell of fresh Lesotho bread. Omg. It was SO good. Love fresh bread.

Stepping outside the air was fresh and crisp, the wind was mild and the Basotho (plural of Lesotho people) were very helpful with putting the gear on the horses (being a noob, I was glad to have all the help I could get!). It was hard to digest the fact that we were going to be riding for another 6-7 hours that day, especially because we were all still hurting (Except *M of course. We found out that she used to ride professionally when she was young. We should’ve known when she pulled out her riding boots).

Onwards and upwards we went. Up more steep mountains. Yes, it was that death-defying experience again. Some of the mountains were so steep we had to get off a couple of times. But the view made up for all the hard work. Look at the vast plains we were riding in amongst. I bet you wouldn’t believe me if I said this was the view for most of the trail (unless you’ve been to Lesotho).


We stopped for a breather and this was where we could admire some of the eroded rock formations and old Bushman paintings. Look how the colours on the rocks are a natural autumn palette and the vibrancy of the colours on the paintings, after thousands of years.

Oh and I forgot to mention this is where I fell off the horse and onto a rock. Yes, ouch. And to top it off, Collar kicked me in the head! Luckily my arm was shielding my head. Collar 1, Shirley 0.


Today we were heading to the main village in the Eastern region of Lesotho. Since Khotso does a lot of horse trials into Lesotho and the Basotho always help out wherever they can, they thought it would be nice to contribute to the local community by building a school/learning centre in the village so the children did not have to go to the main town to get education. *S wanted to check on how the construction was progressing (later to find out it had not started and I think I heard mumbles of “African time”) with the local contractor so we went along for the ride. I was loving the view as we were closing in to the village.

The typical Lesotho housing is the rondavel. Khotso also took the idea from the Basotho and made some of their shared accommodation as rondavels. This also reminded me of the Xhosa village in Coffee Bay.

We headed back around 2pm and the scenery was more of less the same. Just less mountainous tracks which I was happy about.

Back at the lodge we tended to our sore muscles and roamed at our leisure. Another meal in front of the fire and that was me for the day. You won’t believe how nice a warm OB Sherry goes down after a long day.

Leave a Reply

