Uncategorized

[just in] Quarter Life Crisis: Should we just suck it up?

The Quarter Life Crisis topic came up in the news today.

The infamous crisis that happens to everyone. The feeling that hits you when you are between the ages of 24 – 26 (on average, we all think we’re going to live till we’re 100).

I know that feeling. I’ve been there and done that. It hit me 6 months prior to my 25th birthday. And it hit me hard.

I was at a stage where I felt the pressure of everything, like most young people nowadays; owning my own home, having to get and actually keep a boyfriend for more than 6 months, making a mark as a woman in engineering, keeping up with my different circles of friends. It was getting all too much.

So I did what I do best. Go travelling. (Note: This is very different to the notion of running away. Merely because I suffer from shin splints and thus, I can’t run all that far.)

I needed to get out into the open wide space called Earth, clear my head, detox from the city pollution, soak in other cultures, learn something new, meet new people, laugh out loud, do crazy things, be spontaneous.

I went on a 10 week jaunt and it did me good. My soul thanked me for it. I came back refreshed, focused and more acceptable to the fact that I don’t need it all RIGHT NOW. THIS VERY SECOND.

Many people take years and years to achieve what I had in a mere 24 years and 8 months. Many people don’t even achieve that much in their life time. And then I went to Africa and I was even more thankful for everything I had. It really put things into perspective.

Or if that doesn’t work for you and get you into the whole “Live your life now” notion, you could always consider a sea change. Literally. Like the couple at Life out of the Box. A blog I’m totally digging right now.

Disclaimer: For some of you, this may not be what you want to hear and I am not here to preach. I’ve been there and done that and this is my view on today’s youth (me included). Just sayin’…

5 thoughts on “[just in] Quarter Life Crisis: Should we just suck it up?

  1. Awesome article Shirley and thanks so much for the shout out! We’re big fans of your blog too and would love to share your post with our readers as well. It’s definitely something that hits home with us (as you already know). Keep up the great work and keep on travelin’ 🙂

    Quinn & Jon

Leave a Reply

