Uncategorized

[just in] The case of the split-personality spender

So according to Madison, women are prone to “compensatory consuming”. This is where women will be frugal in one aspect of their lives, and frivolous in the other. Examples include taking homemade lunches to work in order to spend the money on a bottle of sparkling on a Friday evening out with the girls, or looking for bargains on toilet paper and shower gel but spending a fortune on the Creme de la Mer moisturiser.

And you know this shit is true when it’s backed up by a study and dozens of surveys. Just like the study conducted by psychologist professor Karen Pine at the University of Hertfordshire in the UK, which found 79 per cent of women admitted to splurging to cheer themselves up.

OK, I admit it. I’m guilty of the sort.

I’m not much different from the ladies which are mentioned in the article; I don’t make my own lattes rather than pay $3.50 for take-out (mainly because I can’t), I don’t drop a (spare) $1,000 on a pair of Prada heels or spend an average of $760 on hair, make-up and morale-boosting clothes after a break-up (not that I’ve calculated my spending after a break-up before. Maybe time to start?).

But I do go to Priceline for my essentials, think nothing of spending $$$ on food for the family and friends and go to the library instead of buying books (I only buy books at a swap meet or charity book sell-out).

All those savings I accumulate go into a “walkabout” fund I set up because I would rather spend my monies on the (many) once-in-a-lifetime holidays than spend monies on materialistic things (bar handbags because women can’t have too many shoulder bags and clutches right?)

And it doesn’t stop there. I’m also prone to “compensatory consuming” whilst on holidays!

I would rather walk from one end of the city than spend money on a bus/train/taxi fare (my reasoning for this is I get to see more of the city) and then spend my fare (and extra) on eating at one of the Top 10 restaurants in the country. I would rather rearrange my itinerary to catch the “free day” at the museums and then spend the savings on a short day trip to the countryside.

I recognise it’s one of my many flaws and I’m currently working on it.

Catch the scoop here or buy the October issue of Madison for the article.

Photo courtesy of Madison magazine.

Leave a Reply

