Uncategorized

[just in] 10 “Touristy” Things travelers MUST do

As many of you may know by now, I hate being a full-on tourist when I travel. I will do a couple of the tourist destinations, and then it’s onto getting to know the locals and where the local pub is (having a cold one is the best way to end the day).

Despite hating being a tourist and paying through the roof for entrance fees and souvenirs, I have to admit there are those touristy things you MUST do.

Like that time I was in New York and I just had to stand in awe right in the middle of Times Square, and that time I was in Venice with my bestie and we just had to take a gondola ride in the canals (not quite as romantic as riding with your partner but all the same), and that time I was in Chicago and I just had to go to Millennium Park and stare at my reflection in “The Bean”.

Resident contributor for Forbes has listed the “10 Most Touristy-Things Travelers Should Do Anyway. I have only done two (gondola ride and Sydney Harbour Bridge climb), one I have seen but decided against due to a fear of heights (London Eye) and one is on the bucket list (Great Wall). On top of that list, I would add Times Square, “The Bean”, Devil’s Pool at Victoria Falls and others I can’t remember right now.

It just goes to show how travel is interpreted differently by each person. One person’s interpretation of a tourist destination is another’s “things I’ll do when I have the time”.

3 thoughts on “[just in] 10 “Touristy” Things travelers MUST do

Leave a Reply

