Uncategorized

[just in] 10 signs I’m an addict

This is a light take on addiction which is applicable to myself and travel. The full list can be found here.

1. You take more risks. Like the time I completed a paragliding course, swung across the Victoria Falls gorge, went shark diving in bloody freezing conditions and rode in a minibus in South Africa.

2. Cutting back hurts. Withdrawals signs include mood swings and depression. I call it post travel depression and it often sets in the first day back at work. The infection period usually varies between a week to 2 months.

3. It impacts on your finances. Most addictions cost money. Damn right and it hurts. A LOT. The food, the activities, the homemade goodies. All worth saving up for over and over again.

4. It impacts on your health. Damn right again. I can’t stop thinking and planning the next holiday.

5. Your defences are up. Addicts may get defensive and deny there is a problem. I always tell my friends I don’t have the travel bug. I just want to see the world. Am I in denial?

6. You become sneaky. Addiction is secretive. Sure I didn’t tell the people at work before I headed off to NT but that’s because I was only going for 2 weeks. Denial again?

7. The more you have, the more you need. I thought a holiday here and there is key to keeping sane in our fast-paced lives and gets us out of the normal routine. That’s a good thing right?

Having ticked off 7 out of the 10, it seems like I’m an addict. Addicted to travel and proud of it!

How many did you tick off?

NOTE: I don’t mean to belittle the seriousness of addiction in any way, shape or form. Addiction is a serious problem that affects every societies’ health system. It should not be taken lightly. If you or you know of someone who suffers from addiction, contact your local addiction treatment centre ASAP.

Leave a Reply

