Australia

I Heart Perth

The people over at National Geographic have come up with a new-and-improved I Heart My City Questionnaire to find why people love their city, what they usually get up to and what they recommend to visitors.

I hope the below convinces you to visit Perth sometime SOON!

Perth is My City.

When someone comes to visit me, the first place I take them depends on what they want to do. For drinks, one of the many wineries in the Swan Valley. For play, the CBD, Fremantle, Hillarys, the Hills are all on the cards. For eats, one of the many new restaurants in Northbridge.

Summer is the best time to visit my city because of the beautiful beaches, Sunday sessions and outdoor activities.

You can see my city best from Kings Park. You can see the CBD, the river and the southern suburbs. You’ll know why Perth is named one of the “City of Lights”.

Locals know to skip the fish and chips at Cicerellos in Fremantle and check out Sweetlips (across the road) instead.

Fremantle Markets is the place to buy authentic, local souvenirs.

In the past, notable people like Heath Ledger (late actor), Gemma Ward (supermodel), and Bon Scott (late lead singer of ACDC) have called my city home.

My city’s best museum is the Western Australian Museum because of the large range of exhibits. There is always a new exhibit coming to town, like the Unveiled exhibition coming soon.

If there’s one thing you should know about getting around my city, it’s the free buses that run all around the CBD.

The best place to spend time outdoors in my city is any one of our spectacular beaches. My favourite being Hillarys.

My city really knows how to celebrate local designers because they deserve the recognition as much as national and international designers. Locals designers are celebrated through events such as Perth Upmarket and PFF.

You can tell if someone is from my city if they have been to Bali more times than they can count!

For a fancy night out, I hop between Northbridge and Perth CBD for pre-dinner drinks, dinner and desserts.

Just outside my city, you can visit the Swan Valley and the South West region. It’s famous for the red and white dipple.

Chillin' at the vineyard. Best way to spend the weekend.

A post shared by sc (@_scvstheworld) on

My city is known for being boring, but it’s really making a comeback. With all the small bars and eateries, outdoor activities and festivals, there’s something for everyone!

The best outdoor market in my city is Subiaco markets. You have got to try the almond croissants.

Voyage Kitchen is my favorite places to grab breakfast,

@ Voyage Cafe: Normas Salsa big brekky!

A post shared by sc (@_scvstheworld) on

Birthday boy's brunch @ Voyage Kitchen. Pork belly and beans #food

A post shared by sc (@_scvstheworld) on

and Billy Lee’s is the spot for late-night eats.

To find out what’s going on at night and on the weekends, read The West Magazine and STe, both part of the weekend papers.

My city’s biggest sports event is the start of the AFL season. Watch it at Patterson Stadium. I suggest taking the train out to Subiaco to avoid the traffic.

When I’m feeling cash-strapped, I’m at home DIY-ing or cooking or blogging on my couch, waiting for the next pay-check.

To escape the crowds, I head to one of the smaller beaches and chill on the grass. I won’t tell you which one, or else you’ll bring your friends.

If my city were a celebrity it’d be Robert Paterson (as much as I don’t want to admit it) because it’s young, mysterious and has a lot of potential.

The dish that represents my city best is a good piece of steak with fresh greens, and any of the boutique beers is my city’s signature drink.

Exchange Plaza is my favorite building in town because it’s a beautiful blue-tinted glass covered building that stands tall and proud in the middle of the CBD.

The most random thing about my city is there are more English people in Perth than Australians.

Fremantle is the best place to see live music, but if you’re in the mood to dance, check out Metropolis Fremantle.

The Fremantle doctor weaving its’ way through the houses of Perth could only happen in my city.

In the spring you should check out the tulips at Araluen and the wildflowers at Kings Park. Be sure to take a picnic basket with you!

In the summer you should spend the day at the beach then enjoy a cold one at the nearest bar on the water, well into the evening.

In the fall you should drive on Mounts Bay Road, from the CBD to the University of WA. You’ll see the most spectacular coloured trees on that length on road.

In the winter you should get down to 399 to grab a cup (or two) of mulled wine. It warms you right up.

If you have kids (or are a kid at heart), you won’t want to miss is Sorrento Quay. It’s a wonderful playground for the kids mixed with sophistication for the adults.

The best book about my city is Cloudstreet by Tim Winton. It’s based on the survival of two working class families in Perth during the 1950s.

When I think about my city, the song that comes to mind is I’m going to be (500 miles) by The Proclaimers, for some unknown reason.

In 140 characters or less, the world should heart my city because you won’t be able to resist it. You plan to come here for a week and you end up staying, forever. It is inevitable. Just ask the expats.

Leave a Reply

