Australia

[shout out] HeartKids WA

Every year I volunteer for a charity. It is part of my personal desire to help my community and the people of Perth.

This year, I thought I would put my gift wrapping skills to work and help out a fabulous organisation, HeartKids WA, that supports families who have a child with a long-term and life-threatening illness, raises awareness and advocates to the Government on the needs of Childhood Heart Disease and ensures the Children’s Cardiac Centre at Princess Margaret Hospital provides the best possible equipment and care for children with cardiac conditions.

Some sad facts:

  • Congenital heart disease is the most common birth abnormality in Australia,
  • 1 in 100 children are born with heart disease or 6 babies every day in Australia,
  • Congenital heart defect is one of the greatest causes of death in infants under 1,
  • There are an estimated 32,000 Australian children under the age of 18 living with Childhood Heart Disease,
  • In most children’s ICU wards approx 50% of the patients are HeartKids.

Personally I have not been affected by heart disease, but that doesn’t mean it is not important. As much as I don’t like kids (I swear they hate me first!), and don’t want any of my own, I truly believe children are the future. The bright minds who will pave the path to advancing the community, society and the world. Each and every one of us should, and need to, help out as much as we can.

For those of you who have had a “HeartKid” and by some chance, have never heard of this organisation, get involved, get support, be inspired.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

From the bottom of my heart, thank you for allowing me to contribute to the cause. The mothers of HeartKids are truly inspirational. I just hope I contributed enough to help make a difference to those affected by the fugly disease.

Leave a Reply

