Uncategorized

The “Ask” Segment

During my absence from the blogosphere, I’ve been getting emails from readers and friends (who have visitors) asking for food and drink recommendations. I don’t know why, because I really don’t get out that much, even less so now that winter has set in.

But it got me thinking. Is that not why sites like TripAdvisor, Urbanspoon and Yelp exist? Or the Lonely Planet books? Or the travel section of NY Times, The Australian and Forbes?

Because whenever I go travelling to a random (according to my friends) place, I usually consult TripAdvisor and Lonely Planet. Then I read what the Frugal Traveler and Nomadic Matt has been up to, and viola, I get my to – eat and drink list.

So I have decided to put together the “Ask …” segment so readers can, not only get my recommendations of food and wine in Perth, but also my friend’s recommendations because frankly, we have seriously different tastes. And, to engage you all to share your recommendations in your city for when I/my friends/my readers visit your city (remember I’m in Melbourne and California this year!).

All you need to do is finish the sentence, keeping your answers to food and drink. Oh, and for sharing purposes, I’d like a name and short bio to credit the words to (if you don’t mind).

If I was a drink, I would be …

My morning coffee is …

Ladies (or lads) who lunch need to …

When friends are in town I take them for a drink at …

The restaurant I recommend is …

For the perfect gift or memento I’d shop at …

Couples wanting a romantic dinner for two should consider …

The best market for foodies to hang can be found …

If it’s raining …

If it’s sunny …

(Your city)’s best-kept secret is …

If I were a visitor with a free day, spend it …

Get involved! You can write to me at sc.asks.you@gmail.com. Send links or photos if it helps describe what you’re talking about.

My one will be up next week so stay tuned. I can’t wait to hear from you all soon!!

S xx

Leave a Reply

