Australia

Ask… sc from Perth

Hello readers, I’m sc and Perth is where I call home. For now.

Perth is home to the best beaches, upcoming local designers and high property prices (not everything can be rosy). I don’t take enough time to appreciate my city so you might as well with my recommendations below.

Welcome to my city and I hope you enjoy.

If I was a drink, I would be an espresso martini in winter and an apple cider in summer. Consumption is a good measure of what you are.

My morning coffee is a skinny flat white with an extra shot from Venn in the Raine Square complex.

Ladies (or lads) who lunch need to go to Bistro des Artistes. Doll up to fit in, that is for ladies and lads.

When friends are in town I take them for a drink at 399. It’s my favourite small bar.

The restaurant I recommend is La Cholita in Northbridge. Love everything from the black salt rimmed cocktail glasses to the quesadillas to the lighting design. Love love love.

For the perfect gift or memento I’d shop at Margaret River Chocolate factory. There’s one in the city for your convenience or head out to the Swan Valley to pick up some wine with it.

Couples wanting a romantic dinner for two should consider Harvest in North Fremantle. It’s secluded onto a suburban street, has mood lighting and THE BEST sirloin steak I have ever tasted. No joke.

The best market for foodies to hang can be found at Subiaco Station St Markets. Golden Choice is my first stop then the Spice Library for my homemade curry pastes and Angry Almonds for my other condiments.

If it’s raining you can find me at 399. Did I mention it’s my favourite bar?

If it’s sunny you can find me at The Breakwater is the best stop to be. Perched on the water, surrounded by yachts and a million dollar view (literally what people for in that area), what more can you ask for? I find it a bit pretentious at times but with a cider in one hand and surrounded by conversations and laughter, you won’t notice those around you.

Perth’s best-kept secret is the kebab shop at Broadway Shopping Centre in Nedlands. The small family business doesn’t use the normal Lebanese bread as the wrap, but a fluffy thick turkish bread like wrap. It’s so yummy I practically lived there during my uni days.

If I were a visitor with a free day, spend it drinking up the city view from Kings Park. It’s a beautiful walk amongst the wildflowers. Stroll through the city looking for that little something to take home. The west end of town have more of the high-end brands and boutique stores. Once you’re done there, head into Northbridge on William St where it will give you an array of Asian and Western goodies. Pop into Hong Kong BBQ Restaurant for the best roast pork in town or Good Fortune Roast Duck House for the best roast duck. And to cap off the night? Head to 399 or The Ellington Jazz Club for some smooth tunes.

Well that’s it from me. Remember to get involved! You can write to me at sc.asks.you@gmail.com. Send links or photos if it helps describe what you’re talking about.

I would love to hear your recommendations.

S xx

Leave a Reply

