Dine

[my city] – Mr. Munchies Sushi

My mother started this tradition of making the family go out to eat once a fortnight. I don’t disagree with it as it saves me from having to cook which is BRILLIANT.

So once a week, we troll Perth for a good (at times it turns out to be a bad) place to have a happy family gathering which involves food, conversations and laughs.

One of the good ones is Mr. Munchies Sushi. Tucked at the back of a small arcade off Beaufort Street in Mt Lawley, it is easy to miss if you don’t know it’s there. Trust me I know.

The menu is quite extensive for such a small joint and crew (there were only 3 people at the front serving a full restaurant!!!). The speed at which they were churning sushi rolls was impressive.

Back to the menu… there are your traditional dishes such as fresh sashimi and chicken kaarage (which is super crunchy and comparable to that from Taka’s) but the sushi is far from traditional. You’ll get a kick with the spicy tuna which is sweetened by the roe scattered like decoration on the Spicy Tuna Roll.

And savour the crunch of the fresh salmon and tuna on the Seafood Roll. It was so fresh it was like they just got it from the fish market. I haven’t tasted such freshness since the last time I went to Kailis. Oh, and the creamy mayo is sooooo smooth.

Other notable ones include the Prawn Roll.

Crunchy Spider Roll (my favourite for the night!). The soft shell crab wasn’t oily like some other places I can name.

And this one. I don’t remember what it is but I’m sure it was delicious.

The only downside about this joint is the size of the pieces. It’s not exactly bite size like sushi should be so I couldn’t stuff a whole piece in my mouth (yes, first world problem) but it was a treat for my brother as he eats quite a lot.

It’s a tad more expensive than your other sushi joints with each large dish (8 pieces) priced between $17 – $25. But if you’re still willing to try, book early. Or else you’ll get the high table with really uncomfortable seats.

Mr. Munchies Sushi
Shop 4, 669 Beaufort Street, Mt Lawley
t: +61 (0)8 9271 8409

Leave a Reply

