North America

The Great Californian Road Trip

Hi readers,

I’m off on the elusive Californian road trip that one must take in their lifetime. Mine being now, a month before my birthday. So I guess this is my present to myself, but knowing me, I’ll get myself another present later. Shh, that’s just between you and me.

So unfortunately I will be taking a break from the weekly photo challenges and the South Korean trip recaps (from back in May!!!). Instead I hope to be giving you a visual diary of what I see on the road, whilst I’m driving. Of course I’ll stop to take photos and not take them whilst driving. I’ve been warned by friends that California is a no fault state (sounds all round dodgy) so I should be responsible I guess. (insert shifty eyes)

So here’s a rough plan of what we’re thinking of. It may or may not (most likely) go to plan. We’re pretty random at the best of times so don’t mind us as we chop and change plans more often than we change our underwear.

I have 3 days in LA by myself and I plan to do all 4 routes on the Hop-on Hop-off buses. Santa Monica and Venice Beach, then head on over to the dodger parts of Hollywood and Downtown LA. From there I head down to San Diego to meet my friend *E and we catch up like we haven’t seen each other in 2 years (truth, it has been 2 years since we first met in Zambia on an overland trip to Namibia). I’m thinking lots of eating in the Gaslamp District. He doesn’t know this yet.

We will pick up a car and head East, out to the Grand Canyon where we will spend 2 days hiking. According to the weather forecast, there is a slight chance of snow. Hmm, I’m not too good with the cold… After all that physical exercise, it is time to party and I want to be as tacky as Vegas will allow us to be. I’m thinking $1 dollar bills down the top of a showgirl, a few winnings at the pokie machine and an infamous $5 (excluding tips) all-you-can-eat buffets. I don’t know what *E wants to do.

After all the OTT stuff, we might do a bit more of the nature stuff and the coastal drive. Santa Barbara, Big Sur, something something. I’ve always wanted to do it and it should be on my bucket list. It won’t be quite like what I imagine. (insert image of me in a convertible, wind blown hair in my face, sun on my bare skin and waves crashing against the cliff face). Instead it’ll be in a sedan, windows up and rain pelting down so hard it hinders my vision and I have to drive 30 kmh (whatever that is in mph). Not so glamorous but awesome all the same.

Eventually we will end up in San Francisco and *E will resume his normal life and I do the touristy things like the Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, ride on the tram, go to Pier 39 (?) and whatever else is in my offline guide book. Oh, and then *J flies into town from Florida (met on the same overland tour).

So there you have it, in all its detailed awesomeness. So I hope you can forgive me while I write this in the airport lounge, drinking my cider and nibbling away at antipasto and Japanese rice crackers.

If you have any suggestions I’d love to hear from you!

Til next time, have a great week and keep well.

S xx

Leave a Reply

