South America

[just in] The Guardian: Highlights of Brazil

The travel Gods seem to know all my moves this year and they’re not stopping me. Instead, they are encouraging me by sending me signs via different sources. This time the travel Gods have used The Guardian to send me a sign that Brazil was an awesome choice for travel this year, despite the bad press around the construction of FIFA World Cup facilities and the ludicrous price hikes on everything.

I’m only going to be hanging around Rio (4 days), I think I have my work cut out for me.

Excerpts from The Guardian’s Highlights of Brazil.

If you do only one thing It’s hard to overstate the beauty of Rio’s setting, its jungle-clad mountains and series of scalloped bays. Board the cable car to the top of Sugar Loaf Mountain (bondinho.com.br) at sunset, and you’ll be in a postcard.”

[Source: Totally Latin America]

Escape the crowds Tijuca National Park is the world’s largest urban forest, and it’s located in the heart of Rio. Jungle Me Tours can arrange hiking tours through the rainforest and a climb to the top of Corcovado to see the iconic Christ the Redeemer statue (jungleme.com.br).”


[Source: rdj4u travel blog]

Now to start the tedious process of getting a visa…

Leave a Reply

