Central America

5 things I didn’t know about Panama

[Source: Wikipedia]

My first stop on my upcoming Latin America trip is Panama City. I am leaving in less than 2 weeks away and I haven’t done any planning yet (!!!). The extent of my knowledge of Panama includes the canal (watched it on Megastructures and it was freaking awesome!!!) and… that’s pretty much it. That’s pretty lame so I decided to research more about Panama and what I can expect.

1. Panama was voted as one of the hot holiday destinations for 2014. I don’t think it’ll stop there once everyone catches on.

2. Other than the Panama Canal, Panama is known for its’ mixed geography; mountains, hills, jungles and looong stretches of beach. I should know this because one of my friends has a beach house there!

3. Panama joined Colombia in 1821, and spent the next 82 years attempting to break away from their reign. (LOL?)

4. Only 80 kilometers of Panama separates the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans.

5. The national flower is the orchid (my favourite!) and is known as the Flower of the Holy Spirit.

[Source: Various sources]

2 thoughts on “5 things I didn’t know about Panama

  1. Since the time Colombia acquired independence from Spain in 1821, Panamá was part of Colombia’s provinces. The US President Theodore Roosevelt had in mind the construction of the canal and since Colombia didn’t allow him to go further with the construction, in 1903, he managed that this Colombian region acquired independence under the name of República de Panamá.

    Fun fact:
    1. They use U.S. currency
    2. Their literature is very young but really good. It portrays the metamorphosis of the country.
    3. I know you already mentioned the distance… But how cool is it that Panamá is the only place in the world where you can see the sun rise on the Pacific and set on the Atlantic, right?

    Have fun!

Leave a Reply

