Read

[on the bedside table] Looptail: How One Company Changed the World by Reinventing Business

I love travelling with G Adventures. I think their tours are great for me; someone who wants to see all the unique and iconic landmarks / locations / things, with the flexibility of doing my own thing after I’ve had a taste of it.

I admire Bruce Poon Tip and what he has done to the idea of group tours and the travel industry. As MarkΒ Boris of Yellow Brick RoadΒ would put it, he’s a disruptor and that’s how you can change the norm in an industry and make a helluva moola from it.

He speaks about his humble beginnings as a child in a family of 9, moving from Trinidad to Calgary; the time he set up his own business, as a 12-year-old; lessons learnt from all his business ventures; his move to Toronto; his desire to keep the tour company afloat during the GFC; winning his first travel related award and meeting the Dalai Lama.

I am a sucker for inspirational stories so I loved the book (not the style of writing though!) and actually gained a lot of business ideas from it. He’s also included some photos, making him more “real” to you and I.

Happy reading! xx

Leave a Reply

