Uncategorized

The Year that was 2016

Another year… of learning, of adventures, of living life to the fullest.

This year, hasn’t flown by as fast, as past years. I felt like I was back in control of my life, with work and travel.

I took a leap of faith and moved to Vancouver, with 2 suitcases and a bit of money. I took a career break and worked (and currently still work) at an outdoor apparel store, which I actually like and am good at. I embraced the crappy weather, not knowing Vancouver rained so much. I made the most of my days off, taking 4 days trips to new cities and discovering what each one had to offer.

A quick recap…

March

A short trip to Broome for Lynette’s birthday. We made this trip possible, knowing it would be the last for us, for a little while.

We explored, took selfies, drank beer, picked up boys, ditched boys and just had a blast!

May

I made the move to Vancouver, 5 years after first deciding to move to Canada.

I left my family and friends, to embark on a new adventure. Some were against my decision, some were for my decision. In the end, it was my decision and I made it happen.

June

I had been in Vancouver for a month now and discovered Seattle was a mere 4 hours coach ride.

I booked 4 days off, reached out to the Couchsurfing community and off I went. I explored every corner of the city by foot (even the underground!), listened to live music, learnt to square dance, drooled over some art and guided my host, Praveen, around Bainbridge Island.

July

Fresh back from Seattle and I had already booked a trip to Alaska with Praveen.

The plan was to spend a bit of time with Clayton and his wife, before crashing Praveen’s road trip up to Denali National Park. It was the first time I had been camping, since Botswana, and it was so much fun! I forgot how fun it was, out in the wild. I explored Kenai Fjords National Park via boat and saw the most amazing wildlife, since Botswana.

September

After, what felt like a gazillion years, I found an apartment and I was free of my friend’s couch. I no longer had to watch The Bachelorette on Monday nights, nor feel bad about being in my friend’s personal space. I was freeeee but grateful for everything she did for me.

October/November

I felt my mood and body was slowing down, getting ready for the winter. I was not ready! I decided I needed a quick break to get a bit of sun and flew down to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. I copied what every other Vancouverite does and embraced the glories of an all-inclusive sun package. It was bliss and an eye-opening experience (Dia de Los Muertos celebrations were amazing!).

December

I spent my birthday in San Francisco with Erik. He spoiled me with the opera, wine tasting in Anderson Valley and an overall good time. It was the first time I didn’t spend time with my family but my North American family made up for it.

And much to my surprise, my family decided to visit me in Vancouver. The whole lot of them, here! After 7.5 months of Skype calls and WhatsApp messages, we were reunited again.

Overall, a good year filled with new people and experiences. Hope 2016 was a good year for you and I wish you and your family a happy and prosperous 2017 ahead!

S xx

Leave a Reply

